Tim's Committees

http://johnson.senate.gov/about/images/comm2.jpgAppropriations Committee

The Senate Appropriations Committee, the largest committee in the Senate, writes the legislation that allocates federal funds to the numerous government agencies, departments, and organizations on an annual basis. Senator Barbara Mikulski chairs the committee.

Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee

The Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee deals with legislation on multiple topics, including banks and financial institutions, public and private housing, urban development and urban mass transit and the renegotiation of Government contracts. Senator Johnson chairs the committee.

Energy and Natural Resources Committee

The committee oversees issues dealing with energy resources and development, including regulation, conservation, strategic petroleum reserves and appliance standards; nuclear energy; Indian affairs; public lands and their renewable resources; surface mining, Federal coal, oil, and gas, other mineral leasing; territories and insular possessions; and water resources. Senator Mary Landrieu chairs the committee.

Indian Affairs Committee

The Indian Affairs Committee deals with issues pertaining to the nation's Native American population. Senator Jon Tester chairs the committee.